A Camera In Your Bag Isn’t Accessible Enough

Posted: November 20, 2014 in auction, camera, fuji, photo, photographer, photographs, photography, street
Tags: , , , , ,

I went to an auction last night and I thought about how I always carry a camera with me everywhere I go.  Actually at least one film camera (Leica M3 and/or Rolleiflex 3.5F) and a Fuji X100.  Tucked neatly in a Domke F-804 Reporter bag or Billingham Hadley Small bag.  And I go lots of places but I find I rarely open up the bag and shoot.  Because it takes an effort to pull the camera out and that draws a lot of attention to it.

wp1
So, last night, I just put the Fuji X100 (yes, I went digital) around my neck.  I always have it on silent mode and from my street shooting experience, I know how to shoot with it at mid-chest level, instead of needing to lift it to my eye.  It made all the difference in the world having it there, not in my bag.  Because I can’t shoot with it in the bag.  And I don’t.

wp3I am going to make a point of wearing it around my neck–not even my shoulder is good enough, because it’s still not in a place I can shoot.  And I’m going to see how much more I photograph as a result of its immediate accessibility.

These photos came from that experience last night, shot from the chest.

The one of the two girls playing a clapping game I even asked if I could photograph them, which didn’t seem like a big deal since my camera was already out.

Camera around your neck.  Not your shoulder.  Not your bag.  Not your car.  Notes to self!

wp2

wp5
wp8

wp6

wp4 wp9

Leave a Reply

