It’s those special storytelling one-of-a-kind moments that I capture and then they exist that give me photographic thrills.  Better than any roller coaster. When I’m hanging the film to dry and see some of the images, or importing them from a card to Lightroom, it’s sheer joy to know that I created these images, which didn’t exist before and wouldn’t exist now but for my passion to get out and document my world.

DSCF7401

And the more I go out, the more I get.  No wonder Winogrand was so passionate about shooting everyday.  And shot so much film.  Because life is happening and if you’re not getting it, you’re missing it.

If I’m walking with a friend, I don’t see anything.  If I’m walking with my camera zone-focused, finger on the shutter release, I see images all the time.  They appear when you look for them. When you’re available to see.

That’s the most difficult part–making time to get out and look.  Because it’s life, as unique as anything Henri Cartier-Bresson or Robert Frank captured.  It’s alive.

And so am I, a working photojournalist and street photographer.  What a great time to be alive!

Leave a Reply

