Robert Adams Doesn’t Make Calendar Photographs

Robert Adams is a Colorado photographer best known for his work as part of the New Topographics: Photographs of a Man-Altered Landscape which was an International Museum of Photography (which is located at the George Eastman House) exhibit in the mid-1970s. I just watched a terrific discussion on how Adams’ landscapes differ from calendar photographs, which I found fascinating, plus a look at his book, Prairie.

It made me want to go out and make some Robert Adams’ style photographs, which follow this video talk. My photos certainly don’t belong in a calendar as the author describes, though I also don’t claim they compare to his work.

Here’s the video with a good look at Adams’ book, Prairie. Good stuff.

Kim Beil, who made this video, also gives a fascinating talk on the B&H Podcast.

Want to support my shows? You can, just visit this link at Paypal, or go to SupportKenneth.com to add your monthly contribution to keep the lights on!

Check out my YouTube Channel of Photography Talks: my 6×6 Portraits Blog (you’re here) and my Daily Photography Podcast. Thanks!

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑